Have a Question? Contact the Humanities Office or an Academic Unit

Faculty

Barry Allen

Professor
Email: bgallen@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23463
Office: University Hall 301
Research Interests: Theory of knowledge, Aesthetics, Philosophy of Technology, work of Nietzsche and Deleuze
Recent Courses: PHILOS 2H03, PHILOS 3EE3, PHILOS 1A03, PHILOS 3B03
Profile

Richard Arthur

Professor
Email: rarthur@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23470
Office: University Hall 305
Research Interests: Philosophy, Logic, Enlightenment
Recent Courses: PHILOS 4XX3, PHILOS 2B03, PHILOS 3NN3, PHILOS 3D03
Website

Nancy Doubleday

(on sabbatical until July 1, 2017)
Associate Professor
Email: doublen@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23087
Office: Togo Salmon Hall 312
Research Interests: Philosophy, Law
Recent Courses: PEACEST 3D03, PEACEST 4FC3, PEACEST 4L03, PEACEST 3B03
Profile
LinkedIn

Claudia I. Emerson

Director, Program on Ethics & Policy for Innovation
Associate Professor
Email: emerson@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.21603
Office: Togo Salmon Hall 722
Research Interests: Global Health Ethics, Applied Ethics
Website
LinkedIn

Diane Enns

Associate Professor
Email: ennsd@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.27529
Office: University Hall 318
Research Interests: Philosophy, Continental, Love
Recent Courses: PHILOS 1E03, PHILOS 4F03, PHILOS 2ZZ3, PHILOS 4B03
Profile
Website
Academia.edu

Elisabeth Gedge

Associate Professor
Email: gedge@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23459
Office: University Hall 303
Recent Courses: PHILOS 3C03, PHILOS 3I03
Website

Matthew Grellette

Assistant Professor
Email: grellemj@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.24125
Office: University Hall 314
Research Interests: Philosophy, Peace Studies, Metaphysics
Recent Courses: PHILOS 2N03, PHILOS 2N03, PHILOS 2S03, PHILOS 3Q03

Nicholas Griffin

Professor
Email: ngriffin@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23469
Office: University Hall 309
Research Interests: Philosophy, Theory, Knowledge
Recent Courses: PHILOS 3O03, PHILOS 3O03, PHILOS 3O03
Profile

Violetta Igneski

Associate Professor
Email: igneski@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23462
Office: University Hall 308
Research Interests: Philosophy , Ethics, Political
Recent Courses: PHILOS 4B03, PHILOS 3N03, PHILOS 2YY3, PHILOS 4S03
Profile

Mark Johnstone

Associate Professor
Email: mjohnst@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23461
Office: University Hall 307
Research Interests: Philosophy , Aristotle, Greek
Recent Courses: PHILOS 4K03, CLASSICS 3XX3, CLASSICS 2P03, PHILOS 3XX3
Profile

Sandra Lapointe

Associate Professor
Email: lapointe@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.20877
Office: University Hall 307A
Research Interests: Philosophy, Language, History
Recent Courses: PHILOS 3E03, PHILOS 3HH3, PHILOS 2CT3, PHILOS 3E03
Website

Brigitte Sassen

Associate Professor
Email: sassenb@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23475
Office: University Hall 306
Research Interests: Philosophy, Modern, Kant
Recent Courses: PHILOS 2XX3, PHILOS 3VV3, PHILOS 2X03, PHILOS 2XX3
Website

Stefan Sciaraffa

Chair
Associate Professor
Email: sciaraf@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23467
Office: University Hall 311
Research Interests: Philosophy, Political, Community
Recent Courses: PHILOS 4XP3A, PHILOS 4Q03, PHILOS 2S03, PHILOS 2Q03
LinkedIn

Wil Waluchow

Professor
Email: walucho@mcmaster.ca
Phone: 905-525-9140 x.23465
Office: University Hall 302
Research Interests: Philosophy, Law, Society
Recent Courses: PHILOS 4C03, PHILOS 4C03, PHILOS 4C03, PHILOS 3Q03
Website
LinkedIn